Multiple Accounts of the First Vision

Anti-Mormons try to discredit the First Vision by bringing up the fact that there are multiple accounts of this vision.  In one version, only Jesus Christ appears to Joseph Smith.  In another version, Joseph Smith simply sees a bunch of angels.  How could this vision be true if Joseph Smith lied about what he saw?

If you do your research, you’ll find that the sources for the multiple accounts were merely hearsay.  Somebody wrote in their diary that Joseph Smith said this or Joseph Smith said that.  Faulty evidence.

But there’s another explanation even if you take the hearsay at its face value.  You see, I am schizophrenic and I have had visual hallucinations.  On one particular occasion, I saw a hologram of an old, white man talking to me.  This imaginary personage claimed to be Ezra Taft Benson.  In one of my accounts of this incident, I was completely convinced that it really was Ezra Taft Benson.  In another account, I believed that this personage was God appearing to me as a hologram.  In a third account, I said that the personage was a complete stranger.

I really did have this visual hallucination.  But I have 3 different accounts of it.  Joseph Smith wasn’t a schizophrenic like me.  There is absolutely no evidence that Joseph Smith had a mental illness.  He saw God the Father and the Son and the forces of evil tried to stop him from producing an accurate account.

You see, there is another visual hallucination I had that I tried to write about but I felt like I was going to have a heart attack and I thought I could hear Satan telling me he would stop me from writing an accurate account by giving me a heart attack if I attempted to write it.  I feel Joseph Smith had similar experiences.  Satan tried to make him look bad by making him slip up when saying what he saw.

I testify to you that the First Vision really did happen.  I testify that God the Father and the Son appeared to Joseph Smith as described when he wrote his definitive account of what happened.  True doctrines such as God the Father having a body of flesh and bones are based on this vision.  Why would a church base doctrine on a false vision?  The Holy Ghost has revealed to me that the First Vision was real.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Thomas on October 10, 2016 - 6:20 pm

    I am sorry but that concept seems a bit off. A prophet of God is accurate because the message comes from God…or he is not a prophet. Only false prophets change their story to fit their theology.

    Like

Leave a Reply

